top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Shotts

If Fishes Were Wishes


This month's (September 2019) theme is all about fish! "If fishes were wishes"! And, yes, I know! You lit teachers out there will remind me that the saying is actually "If wishes were fishes"! And, I also know that someone is thinking that fish and wishes have nothing in common! Well, in "Fuzzy Duckling" world, they do!


I am a fish keeper. I have been for several years. At the moment I have approximately 100 fish. I have everything from a three foot koi, in the outdoor pond, to a two inch betta in a small, six gallon tank. I LOVE fish!!! I have learned many lessons from fish! So let's take a moment and look at a few:


1. Fish tend to multiply. A half dozen fish can quickly morph into a hundred fish. So can wishes! Actually, In my mind, I equate wishes with dreams. They are so much alike. I have many dreams. My dreams have changed over the years but they are still legion. When we quite dreaming/wishing - we quit living!


2. It takes a lot of work to be a fish keeper. It's fairly easy to keep a fish alive for a few weeks - even a few months, but it is difficult to keep them alive for their normal life span of several years. They must be fed the proper food, kept in specially conditioned water, temperature must be regulated, and like all other pets........they need love. Lot's of love. Dreams and wishes are no different. We must work to get and keep our most cherished dreams. And, it can take more time and energy to keep them than it does to get them. Be careful how many you actually accumulate and carefully care for and embrace the ones that do come true!


3. There are a myriad varieties of fish. There are big fish, little fish, skinny fish, round fish, gentle fish and mean fish. I have to be very careful when it comes to choosing my fish. No matter how much I would love to have a dolphin - I have to be realistic! They are WAY too big to swim in a sixteen foot pond! My newly acquired dolphin would be dead within a few hours. I HAVE to face the reality that all of my fish must be small enough to fit in my pond and that they must get along with each other. One fish must not be allowed to push out the others and take over their whole fishie world. Just so, I must be careful which dreams I actually pursue. They must fit my life style (and budget). I can't let one take over and push out other important things in my life.


4. Fishies are beautiful and magnificent. So are our dreams. Don't ever let anyone ever tell you otherwise. Your dreams and wishes are important! Your dreams and wishes are magnificent! Your dreams and wishes are beautiful! Never let them go. Let them change and morph through the years but cling to them like life itself - because that is exactly what they are! L. I. F. E.


The Fuzziest Duckling Ever







0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page